Call for Papers

First ACM/USENIX International Conference
Virtual Execution Environments (VEE'05)


joining ACM SIGPLAN IVME and USENIX VM and in cooperation with ACM SIGOPS
Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN and USENIX


held in conjunction with PLDI 2005
June 11-12, 2005, Chicago, Illinois


Research results on virtual execution engines are scattered among a number of different venues in the languages (VM, PLDI, OOPSLA, IVME, ICFP), operating systems (SOSP, OSDI), and architecture (ASPLOS, CGO, PACT) communities. The organizers of the USENIX VM Symposium and the ACM SIGPLAN IVME Workshop felt the needs of the community would be better served by having a single first-rate conference address a breadth of issues related to virtual execution environments. Thus, we are happy to announce a new annual event: the ACM/USENIX Conference on Virtual Execution Environments (VEE). The initial instantiation of VEE will be co-located with PLDI 2005 in Chicago, Illinois. Future instances of the conference will be held jointly with OS or architecture conferences.
VEE promises to be a unique forum that brings together leading practitioners and researchers in the broad area that includes topics such as interpreters, high-level language virtual machines (JVM, CLR, etc.), machine emulators, translators, and machine simulators. Papers are solicited in areas including, but not limited to, the following:
  • Dynamic and high-level languages
  • Domain specific languages
  • Execution environments for trusted computing
  • Portable or retargetable interpreters
  • Dynamic compilation techniques
  • Binary translation and optimization systems
  • Mixed-mode interpretive/compiled systems
  • Distributed execution environments
  • Software-based architecture simulators
  • Hardware implementations of VMs
  • Machine emulators
  • Real-time and embedded environments
  • Garbage collection
  • VMs in servers and cluster environments
  • VM interactions in multi-VM environments
  • Scalability, simplicity and correctness issues
  • Experience reports

Program Committee
Ole Agesen,  VMware
Brad Calder,  UCSD
Cliff Click, Azul Systems
Dave Detlefs,  Sun
Evelyn Duesterwald,  IBM
Neal Glew,  Intel
Dave Grove,  IBM
Tim Harris,  Microsoft
Mike Hicks,  U. Maryland
Richard Jones,  U. Kent
Christoph Kirsch,  U. Salzburg
Andi Krall,  T.U. Wien
Chandra Krintz,   UCSB
Doug Lea, SUNY,  Oswego
Xavier Leroy,  INRIA
Guei-Yuan Lueh,  Intel
Mendel Rosenblum,  Stanford
Ulrik Schultz,  Aarhus
Michael Smith,  Harvard

General Chair:  Michael Hind, IBM
Program Chair:   Jan Vitek, Purdue

Important Dates
Submission Deadlines: February 18, 2005
Author notification:     March 28, 2005
Final paper due:        April 15, 2005

Steering Committee
Tarek S. Abdelrahman, U of Toronto
Hans Boehm, HP
Michal Cierniak, Microsoft
Anton Ertl, T. U. Wien
Michael Franz, UC Irvine (co-chair)
David Gregg, Trinity College Dublin
Sam Midkiff, Purdue (co-chair)
Peter F. Sweeney, IBM
Mario Wolczko,  Sun