First International Workshop on Mining Multimedia Streams in large-scale Distributed Environments (MMSDE-2008) 

co-located with

IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE), 2008

April 7, 2008, Cancún, México

 Call for Papers [pdf]

This workshop solicits state-of-the-art approaches and technical solutions in the area of multimedia stream mining in large-scale environments. The workshop will provide a compelling forum for researchers and practitioners to present their results in several diverse disciplines, including signal processing, multi-modal multimedia mining and analytics, multimedia streaming systems, large-scale distributed stream processing systems etc. Original contributions previously unpublished and not currently under review by another journal or conference, are solicited in relevant areas including (but not limited to) the following:

Important Dates

Submitted papers must explicitly address issues for multimedia streams. Manuscripts should be in English and must not exceed 6 pages (IEEE format). Submissions should include the title, author(s), authors' affiliations, e-mail addresses, tel/fax numbers, postal address, and an abstract on the first page. 

All papers must be submitted electronically via email to the workshop chairs (see below for email). All submitted papers will be refereed for quality and originality by the Program Committee. Accepted papers will be published as part of IEEE ICDE 2008 Workshop Proceedings..

This workshop will be coordinated with a special issue on the same topic in IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering scheduled for early 2009. Extended versions of the best papers from this workshop will be considered for publication in that special issue.


Program Co-Chairs

Lisa Amini, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Deepak S. Turaga, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Olivier Verscheure, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

Program Committee
Arvind Arasu
, Microsoft Research.  
Walid Aref, Purdue University
Reynold Cheng, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Amol Deshpande, University of Maryland, College Park
Pascal Frossard, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Lukasz Golab, AT&T Labs, Inc - Research 
Jiawei Han, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Jaewoo Kang, Korea University
Kamal Karlapalem, International Institute for Information Technology
Mohamed Mokbel, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Beng Chin Ooi, National University of Singapore
Tansel Ozyer, ETU, Turkey
Mirek Riedewald, Cornell University
Mihaela van der Schaar, University of California, Los Angeles
William Szewczyk, National Security Agency
Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois, Chicago
Jeffrey Xu Yu, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Philip S. Yu, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Lei Zhang, Microsoft Research Asia